Thursday, March 18, 2010

British Indian Ocean Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory

People's Natural Traveling is to provide traveling information and adventures from all over the world. Where you can choose from and learn about difference places and people and their way of life.

Government: British Overseas Territory

Queen: HM Queen Elizabeth II

Commissioner: Colin Roberts

Administrator: Joanne Yeadon

Official languages: English

Time zone: (UTC+6)

Currency: Great British Pound Sterling

British Indian Ocean Territory or Chagos Islands is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean, halfway between Africa and Indonesia.

The British Indian Ocean Territory consists of over one thousand individual islands, the largest of which is Diego Garcia, a joint military facility of the United States and United Kingdom.

United Kingdom and United States entered an agreement in 1971, under which US set up a military base Diego Garcia.

Since setting up a base in Diego Garcia, United States has enforced the controversial depopulation program.

Entry to Diego Garcia is extremely limited due to the large American and British military presence on the island.

The British Indian Ocean Territory is off limits to tourists.

People who dream of traveling the world. Traveling can be a wonderful, mind-opening experience.

Tips on traveling around the world

Traveling USA

Traveling The Countries 

This Article was by Michelle At People's Natural Living

No comments:

Post a Comment